Ethics and Professional Practices Board Members

Laurie McGarry Klose (Chair) 
Dr. Laurie McGarry Klose is an Associate Professor and Director of the School Psychology Program at Trinity University. She worked for 11 years as a faculty member in school psychology at Texas State University, including serving as the Director of Assessment for the Clinic for Autism Research, Evaluation and Support and University Assessment and Counseling Clinic.  Before becoming a faculty member, Laurie worked as a school psychologist for 12 years in California, Massachusetts and Texas. Her professional interests include achievement motivation, professional identity and development, assessment and models of ethical decision making. Professional advocacy is Dr. Klose's passion and evidenced by her service in multiple capacities in the Texas Association of School Psychologists and the National Association of School Psychologists.

Melissa Pearrow (Co-Chair)
Melissa Pearrow, Ph.D. is the Director of the School Psychology Program at the University of Massachusetts, Boston. She teaches courses in ethics, social, emotional and behavioral assessment, and social justice. She practiced as a school psychologist for ten years in the Quincy, MA Public Schools where she also chaired the program for students with emotional and behavioral disorders and supervised intern and practicum students. She is a Past-President of the Massachusetts School Psychologists Association and has served NASP on the Strategic Planning and Convention Committees. Dr. Pearrow's research interests are in the areas of school-based mental health services and empowerment programs with urban youth. 

Central Region

Susan Jacob 
Susan Jacob, who earned her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology from Michigan State University in 1981, is Professor Emeritus of Psychology, Central Michigan University. Her primary area of scholarship is ethical and legal issues in school psychology. Dr. Jacob currently resides in Ann Arbor, Michigan. 

Northeast Region

John Garruto
John Garruto, DEd, NCSP, is a school psychologist for the Oswego City School District, a role he has had since 1999.  He is also an adjunct professor at SUNY Oswego.  His primary interests are for the assessment of learning disabilities, neuropsychology, and professional school psychology.  He served for five years as Research Chair for NYASP and for two years as Speaker Chair for the 2011 and 2015 NYASP conferences.  He also currently serves as an at-large member for the NASP Ethics and Professional Practices Committee.  Dr. Garruto has presented at the local, regional, state, national, and international levels.  He has also authored and co-authored book chapters on emotional neuropsychology, report writing, and most recently is a co-author of the book "Essentials of Woodcock-Johnson IV Tests of Cognitive Abilities."  

Southeast Region

Dana Boccio
Dana Boccio, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor in the Gordon F. Derner School of Psychology at Adelphi University, teaching in the school psychology master's program. Dr. Boccio has a B.A., an M.A. and a Ph.D. in Psychology from Hofstra University. She has worked as a school psychologist in West Babylon, New York, and her research interests lie in the areas of adolescent suicide risk assessment and ethical issues in the profession of school psychology. 

Western Region

Nate Jones
Nate Jones, Ph.D. is a school psychology consultant working at SERESC in Bedford, NH, and is a NH and nationally certified school psychology, licensed psychologist, and board certified behavioral analyst (BCBA). Along with his consultation work for New Hampshire schools, Nate focuses his professional goals towards increasing coordination among educational, medical, and mental health agencies to improve outcomes for youth. Nate served as the NASP State Delegate for two terms and was named the NH and National School Psychologist of the Year in 2017. 

At-Large Members

Juliette Madigan 
Juliette Madigan, M.Ed., NCSP, is retired school psychologist in Cleveland, Ohio. For many years, she practiced in the Cleveland Municipal School District and served as half-time Crisis Coordinator for the district. She served as NASP Delegate from Ohio for two terms. In 1997, Ms. Madigan was honored as Ohio School Psychologist of the Year and in 1999 served as OSPA President. Ms. Madigan is a Certificated School Psychologist with the Ohio Department of Education and a Licensed School Psychologist with the Ohio Board of Psychology. 

Mindi Jeter
Mindi Jeter, M.S., LSSP, is assistant director of special education and 504 services for Taylor-Callahan Education Cooperative (TCEC) in Abilene, TX. She has provided school psychological support services for 20 years in the 6 rural school districts served by TCEC. She has held multiple appointed and elected leadership positions with Texas Association of School Psychologists and currently serves as the Region 14 Delegate for the Texas Council of Administrators of Special Education. (Appointed July, 2018)

Austin Johnson
Austin Johnson, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor in the School Psychology program at the University of California, Riverside's Graduate School of Education. He received his Ph.D. in educational psychology from the University of Connecticut in 2014. Dr. Johnson's research interests focus on the identification of evidence-based behavior support practices and the evaluation of observationally-based behavior assessment methodologies. Prior to joining UCR, he was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow with a three-year grant project funded by the Institute for Education Sciences examining national practices in social, emotional, and behavioral screening. Dr. Johnson is a Licensed Psychologist with the California Board of Psychology (#29540) and a Board Certified Behavior Analyst (#1-15-18892).  (Appointed July, 2018)

Brian Bartels
Brian Bartels, M.A., CAS, NCSP, is the Director of Psychological Services for Montgomery County Public Schools in Rockville, Maryland. MCPS has a student population of 144,777 and it is the 16th largest school district in the United States. Mr. Bartels is helping develop a training plan to introduce updated criteria for identifying students with specific learning disabilities. As a former director of special education, specialist at the Maryland State Department of Education, and school psychologist, Mr. Bartels has considerable experience in developing and implementing professional development related to Response to Intervention, identification, and instruction of students with specific learning disabilities.