Paul H. Henkin Memorial Scholarship Award

Recognizing Excellence in Applied Research or Program Design

The Paul H. Henkin Memorial Scholarship Award recognizes excellence in applied research or program design by a school psychologist who has recently entered the field. Individuals eligible for consideration are PRIMARY presenters whose convention proposals are accepted for presentation, who are NASP members, and who have been newly credentialed within the last three years, prior to the proposal submission deadline (Wednesday, June 14, 2023).  

Credentials may include Nationally Certified School Psychologist (NCSP) or credentialing by a state agency as a school psychologist. The recipient of the Paul H. Henkin Memorial Scholarship Award will receive reimbursement for convention registration fees, lodging as needed to fulfill the obligations of the award (presentation and awards ceremony), and transportation to the NASP convention for which her/his proposal has been accepted. Reimbursement cannot exceed $2,000.

Individuals interested in being considered for the Paul H. Henkin Memorial Scholarship Award should complete the information pertaining to the scholarship on the online cover sheet and submit their proposal electronically. Information about the Convention Presentation Proposal System can be accessed here. Upon notification of acceptance, individuals then submit (via e-mail) 1 copy of documentation to verify credentialing.

2020 Award Recipient: Brittany Zakszeski

Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA

The Paul H. Henkin Memorial Scholarship Award recognizes excellence in applied research or program design by a school psychologist who has recently been credentialed in the field. Eligible individuals are selected from accepted convention presentation submissions. Brittany Zakszeski, PhD, NCSP, is a postdoctoral fellow at the Devereux Center for Effective Schools and a 2019 graduate of Lehigh University's school psychology program. She received the Henkin Award for her paper presentation PA033: Train Smarter, Not Harder: Multi-Tiered Systems of Professional Development Supports.

Note. The submission deadline has passed and applications are no longer being accepted. The award recipient will be announced at the NASP 2024 Annual Convention in New Orleans, LA, in February. The application process will tentatively open again in May 2024. See the NASP Convention Presentation Proposal for more information.