Skip Navigation LinksNASP Home Publications Communiqué Volume 35, Issue 7 Minority Scholarship Recipients

NASP Communiqué, Vol. 35, #7
May 2007

NASP Awards Five Minority Scholarships for 2007!

By Deborah Peek Crockett, NCSP
Chair, NASP-ERT Minority Scholarship Program and NASP Past President

The NASP Minority Scholarships were awarded during the NASP Awards Reception held in New York City on Wednesday, March 28, 2007. This year five exemplary school psychology students were honored. Selected from 55 applications were Stefanie Foster, Brandi Newry, David Adams, Kaitlyn Dyson, and Tamara Long.

Stefanie Foster was awarded the Wayne Gressett Memorial Minority Scholarship, named in honor of one of the key individuals in the creation of the scholarship fund. She is a Masters of Science student at Southern Connecticut State University, New Haven CT. Stefanie’s professional goals include devoting her career to “broadening underserved ethnic and linguistic students’ access to educational success.”

Brandi Newry was awarded the Deborah Peek Crockett Minority Scholarship, named in honor of the founder of the Minority Scholarship Program and first African American President of NASP. Brandi is currently pursuing an Educational Specialist degree at Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK. Her career goals include working with ethnically diverse students to develop effective interventions to reduce the disproportionate numbers of ethnic minorities in special education programs.

David Adams is the first recipient of The Psychological Corporation Minority Scholarship. He is a student in the Masters of Science, Professional Diploma in School Psychology program at Fordham University, New York City. David’s professional goals include the implementation of educational and psychological research in schools and communities.

Kaitlyn Dyson is a student in the Educational Specialist Program at Brigham Young University in Provo, UT. Kaitlyn is interested in working with lower income and multicultural populations in addition to students at risk for academic failure.

Tamara Long is a student in the Specialist in Education School Psychology Program at Miami University in Oxford, OH. She is interested in working with low-income students from the inner city to enhance their academic success and personal achievement in school and community.

The NASP-ERT Minority Scholarship Program was initiated in 1995. To date, 22 scholarships have been awarded at $5,000 each. The scholarships continue to be funded by private, corporate, individual, state associations, and NASP member donations. Thanks to this year’s scholarship committee for their hard work — Fulvia Franco, Leslie Munson, Robin Satchell, and staff member Katie Britton. Also, thanks to The Psychological Corporation, Psychological Assessment Resources (PAR), Pearson-American Guidance Services, and Riverside Publishing, Inc. for their corporate sponsorship in 2007. We welcome their support!

For more information about contributing to the fund or applying for a scholarship, visit www.nasponline.org.