Populations Students Early Career Families Educators View My Account
Skip Navigation LinksNASP Home Publications Communiqué Volume 42, Issue 6 NASP Elections

NASP Elections

Todd Savage and Leslie Paige Chosen to Lead NASP

By Charles Deupree

The 2014 NASP elections are complete, and the membership has chosen Todd Savage, PhD, NCSP, as the president-elect for the 2014–2015 year and president starting July 1, 2015, and Leslie Paige, EdS, NCSP, as secretary for 2014–2017.

Todd has worked professionally in Kentucky, New Mexico, and Wisconsin, where he is currently a graduate educator at the University of Wisconsin- River Falls. He teaches courses in diversity and inclusion, consultation, assessment, advocacy and public policy, research, and crisis prevention and intervention. He has coauthored numerous publications related to culturally responsive practice; lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender student issues; and school crisis prevention and intervention matters. He is a PREPaRE trainer and has cofacilitated numerous PREPaRE workshops.

Todd has served NASP in a variety of roles, including state delegate, regional representative, workgroup chair and cochair, and program manager. His biographical statement notes that “through these positions, he has garnered much insight into the operations of NASP as well as a deepened purview of the field.” In his first election response to the membership, Todd stated, “The NASP president should be connected to school psychologists at all levels, from students to early career professionals, from seasoned practitioners to retirees.” His professional experience would indicate that he has a wide range of experience that will help him stay connected to the membership. Todd is excited to continue serving on the Executive Council but this time with the new title of presidentelect of NASP.

Leslie first became involved in Kansas state association leadership in 1981. She served as KASP president and chaired the Nominations and Elections, Membership, Publications, and Education Reform Committees. She became involved in NASP leadership in 1994 as the Kansas delegate. She was chair of the Publications Board, was a member of two Strategic Planning Committees, cochaired the Professional Development and Ethics Committees, chaired the Leadership Development Committee, and was a member of the PREPaRE workgroup. Leslie was elected as NASP treasurer, serving from 2004–2007, and she is currently the cochair of the Awards Committee. Leslie received the NASP Presidential Award (2001 and 2007), and she was recognized as the 1994 Kansas School Psychologist of the Year and the 1996 NASP School Psychologist of the Year.

Professionally, Leslie has provided comprehensive services in the schools for more than 20 years and has written and directed many grant projects that provided support for prevention and intervention services and professional development. She has worked as a trainer and served as the interim school psychology program director for Fort Hays State University. She currently is codeveloper of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science. She is very excited to rejoin the NASP Executive Council as secretary.

Additionally, 17 new delegates were elected and will begin their terms on July 1, 2014. Congratulations to all of the new leaders.

  • Central Region
  • Illinois – Katherine Townsend
  • Iowa – Kathryn Gerken
  • Michigan – Tracy Hobbs
  • Minnesota – Daniel Hyson
  • Wisconsin – Robert J. Dixon
  • Southeast Region
  • Alabama – Melinda Adkins
  • Georgia – Catherine Perkins-Cadenhead
  • Louisiana – George Hebert
  • Mississippi – Kim Zwierzynski
  • Northeast Region
  • Maine – Ruth Crowell
  • New Hampshire – Tari Selig
  • Pennsylvania – Jason Pedersen
  • Rhode Island – Kim Pristawa
  • West Region
  • Colorado – Andrea Clyne
  • Montana – Shawna Rader Kelly
  • New Mexico – Elsa Arroyos
  • Wyoming – Bart Lyman