Populations Students Early Career Families Educators View My Account
Skip Navigation LinksNASP Home Publications Communiqué Volume 40, Issue 6 Sally Baas Chosen as NASP President-Elect

NASP Elections

Sally Baas Chosen as NASP President-Elect

By Charles Deupree

The 2012 elections are complete and the membership has chosen Sally A. Baas, EdD, as NASP President- Elect for the 2012–2013 year and President starting July 1, 2013. Sally has had a varied professional career. She has taught high school and has been a K–12 administrator, a school psychologist, a consultant, and a professor. She has served as Minnesota state delegate; Central Region Delegate Representative; President of the NASP Education Research Trust; cochair of Awards; Governmental Professional Relations cochair; a NASP Children’s Fund Trustee; and an involved member of the Native American Workgroup, Asian American Workgroup, and Child and Professional Relations Committee.

Currently, she directs several university programs and serves as a university senator, assessment team lead, and the Minnesota coordinator for the rollout of the Teacher Performance Assessment. Her love of reading and writing would become the catalyst for helping students of all ages, from various cultures and ethnic backgrounds, build stronger self-identity and capacity for socioemotional and educational success through her personal mission to build a community of lifelong intercultural learners, while facilitating educational growth and leadership.

Sally is well aware of the many facets of NASP and looks forward to returning to the NASP Executive Council this July and assuming the role as President of NASP in 2013. Additionally, 18 delegates were elected during this last election cycle. All of the candidates should be congratulated for their desire to serve their professional association. Here is a list of the successful candidates.

President Elect (2012 - 2013) and President (2013-2014)Sally Baas (MN)
Arizona: Eva PrinceMaryland: Stephanie Livesay
Arkansas: Wendy Stovall Massachusetts: Wendy Price
California: Margaret A. Sedor Nebraska: Mary Osterloh
Connecticut: Rossella Fanelli Nevada: Emma Dickinson
DC: Denise Daniels New Jersey: Terry Molony
Florida: Bill Donelson North Dakota: Terese M. Schaefer
Hawaii: Esteban Walstrum Ohio: Kathy McNamara
Kansas: Carol Daniels Utah: Fulvia Franco
Kentucky: Misty M. LayVirginia: Terri Sisson

Charles Deupree, NCSP, is chair of the NASP Nominations and Elections Committee.